In Italy, the Association European Energy Award AISBL has cooperated with the private, Genova-based company SPES Consulting for a number of years. Since 2016, SPES Consulting and the Agency for Energy South Tyrol – CasaClima, a public body of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano, are the two official licensees of the eea programme in Italy.

The Agency for Energy South Tyrol – CasaClima adopted the eea methodology within the framework of the KlimaGemeinde/ComuneClima programme backed by the Autonomous Province of Bolzano. The programme supports South Tyrol’s municipalities in implementing climate protection and energy efficiency measures that contribute to the realization of the policy framework Climate Strategy – South Tyrol Energy 2050.

Status of the eea in Italy

Currently, 33 Italian municipalities participate in the eea programme. 776'300 people benefit from the eea system in their municipalities. In early 2018, there were 9 eea-certified municipalities. In 2015, two municipalities, Montaione (Tuscany) and Saint Denis (Aosta Valley), achieved the eea Gold award.

The municipalities that take part in the eea programme are supported by external professionals, that have received advanced training courses provided by SPES and the Agency for Energy South Tyrol – CasaClima.

Regions with participating municipalities

  • Aosta Valley
  • Piedmont
  • Trentino-Alto Adige
  • Tuscany