The 'Energiestadt' - programme


Contact: Energiestadt/Cité d'énergie/città dell'energia

Switzerland pioneered the European Energy Award (eea). “Energiestadt” / “Cité de l`énergie” / “Città dell`energia”, the Swiss eea programme, was founded in 1988 and soon developed into a comprehensive management system backed by the official energy policy of Switzerland. Today, Energiestadt has grown to be recognised as one of Switzerland’s most successful energy policy programmes.

The eea in Switzerland is awarded by the national supporting organisation (“Trägerverein Energiestadt” / “Association Cité de l’énergie” / “Associazione Città dell’energia”). The Swiss state acknowledges the eea as the primary tool for local sustainable energy and climate policy.


Number of municipalities

  • participating in total: 628
  • awarded eea: 469
  • awarded eea Gold: 99

Population involved: 6,1 m

  • 1st eea award: 1991
  • 1st eea Gold award: 2004

Status beginning of 2024