Contact: e5 Austria          

Fact sheet


The e5-programme, the Austrian version of the European Energy Award (eea), was launched in 1998. It provides municipalities with practical, long-term support in the fields of energy efficiency and climate protection and has become one of the umbrella programmes for the eea.

The success of a municipality is measured in “e”, with the number of “e”s representing the scope of energy measures implemented in the municipality. The most dedicated municipalities achieve “eeeee”, which is how the Austrian programme name “e5” originated. On the European level, “eee” corresponds to the European Energy Award and “eeeee” to the European Energy Award Gold.

The Austrian programme “e5 Österreich” is managed by the Austrian Energy Agency as part of the initiative “klimaaktiv” of the Austrian Ministry of the Environment in cooperation with seven Austrian provinces.

Status of the EEA in Austria

The programme today reaches local authorities which account for more than 20 % of the Austrian population. Seven of nine Austrian provinces take part in the e5 / eea programme. At the beginning of 2019, there were 228 e5 / eea local authorities participating, 130 of which have been awarded the eea and 24 of which have reached Gold status.

All participating municipalities have been transformed through the step-by-step quality process of the programme. To date, 1'500 e5 team members in participating communities have implemented more than 10'000 energy-related measures.

Participating municipalities in January 2019