European Energy Award Gold municipalities

eea best of 2013

The European Energy Award Gold

The European Energy Award Gold is the highest award given for municipal energy and climate protection activities at the European level. It is awarded to municipalities that have implemented at least 75 per cent of measures within their scope of action and have thus demonstrated an exemplary commitment to a sustainable energy future.

The award requires municipalities to be audited by two auditors, a national one and an international one. Applications for certification must be submitted to the national eea commission, which forwards them to the international office of the Forum eea, the certifying authority for the European Energy Award Gold.


Austria:   Feldkirch   Kötschach-Mauthen

France:   Besançon

Germany:   Bad Schussenried   Bocholt   Bochum   District of Ravensburg   Friedrichshafen   Iserlohn   Ravensburg   Senden   Wiernsheim      

Switzerland:   Bernex   Cham   Delémont   La Chaux-de-Fonds   Riehen   Schaffhausen   St. Gallen   Vevey   Zurich